Lorelai Gilmore Outfit #1: What She Should’ve Worn to Rory’s First Day at Chilton

For those of you who don’t watch the Gilmore Girls, a little backstory/setting:

On Lorelai’s daughter Rory’s first day of Chilton, Lorelai has a little bit of a clothing issue.  She forgets to pick up her clothes from the dry cleaner’s, so all she is left with is her ratty clothes.  Chilton is a private school that Rory has just been accepted to, so Lorelai wants to make a good, professional impression when she drops her daughter off.  Instead, she has to drop her off wearing a pink tie-dyed shirt, cowboy boots, and cutoff jean shorts, which gets her many stares and not-so-under-the-breath comments.  Hilarity ensues.  Flash forward to later in the episode, after she has had a chance to pick up her dry cleaning, and she’s wearing a baby blue blouse and structured a-line skirt (die-hard Gilmore Girls fans, feel free to correct me on this…I was just too lazy to actually pop the episode in and reference-check).  She announces to anyone within earshot that that was the particular outfit she was supposed to wear.

This brings us to today’s outfit.  I came up with an alternative to her blouse and a-line skirt, using items from her capsule wardrobe:

I think this outfit is snappy and professional, but still shows a little bit of personality with her necklace.  I almost threw the black blazer on it instead of the navy one, but thought it would’ve looked too monotone. 

Blouse: mango.com, $16
Blazer: profilefashion.com, $715
Trousers: uniqlo.com, $15 (price went down from yesterday!)
Pumps: nordstrom.com, $575
Earrings: lordandtaylor.com, $1215
Necklace: endless.com, $55
Purse: pinterst.com, ??? (price unlisted)
Outfit Total: $2591

What do you guys think?  Is there a different combination that you’d choose from the capsule wardrobe for her first day at Chilton?  Do you think I went too conservative and perhaps should’ve added more color somewhere?  Let me know what you think, as well as vote on which bonus item I should include (see yesterday’s post by clicking on the “her capsule wardrobe” link above).

I have to say that what inspired me to do this was an amusing post from a friend, wherein he asked what he should wear to a first date.  I found it amusing because I don’t recall him ever caring what he wore before.  In times past, I think he would’ve went for the guy version of the cutoff shorts and tie-dyed shirt.  There is much more to the story, but I’ll withhold it in order to save him embarassment (I try to be a good friend when I can).  Anyhow, I think that may influence tomorrow’s outfit.  I’m thinking it’ll be another “what Lorelai should’ve worn to…”.  But for now, I’ll say goodnight.

Style On, Stylists!  (I think that’ll be my official sign off for this blog.)

Leave a comment